The Kuhin Language

This page presents a guide to the Kuhin language, a personal conlang built on predicate logic and triconsonantal roots.


Kuhin's phonology contains a total of 40 phonemes, consisting of 34 consonants and 6 vowels.

Labial Dental Alveolar Palatal Velar Pharyngeal Glottal
Stop p b p' t d t' k g k' ʔ
Nasal m n
Fricative f v θ ð s z s' ʃ ʒ x ɣ ħ ʕ h
Affricate ts dz tʃ dʒ
Trill r
Approx. w l j
Short Long
Front Back Front Back
Open i u i: u:
Close a a:


The Kuhin alphabet uses no diacritics. The order of the alphabet is based on a mixture of the orderings used in Ge'ez and Laiqbun:

a a: u u: i i: ʔ h ħ ʕ l r m n s s' z ʃ ʒ k
a aa u uu i ii ' h j q l r m n s ss z sh zh k
k' g p p' b t t' d x ɣ w j ts dz f v θ ð
kk g p pp b t tt d kh gh w y c x ch xh f v th dh

In some circumstances, a digraph is confusable with a consonant cluster occurring at a syllabic boundary. This is prevented by adding a hyphen if it is a cluster, thus distinguishing "kh" from "k-h," for instance.

Basic Grammar

The core of Kuhin's grammar is the usage of triconsonantal roots, which exist in five forms demonstrated here using the root k-t-b (x1 writes x2):